American Sustainable Business Council Voices Support of the Freedom to Vote Act

Media Release

Following today’s introduction of the Freedom to Vote Act, the American Sustainable Business Council voices its support of this significant reform measure that is expected to strengthen the voting rights of all Americans and significantly reduce the influence of money in politics. Under the leadership of Senat Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) and Sen. Joe Manchin (D-WV), the bill’s co-sponsors include Sens. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Angus King (I-ME), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Jon Tester (D-MT), and Raphael Warnock (D-GA).

The success of American businesses relies on a healthy democracy and the Freedom to Vote Act will protect the right to vote. Included are elements of the For the People Act, which passed the House earlier this year. We applaud these senators’ efforts to make sure that American elections continue to be fair for everyone and not hindered by partisan efforts to sway outcomes, and especially thank Senator Manchin for his commitment to this important right . Voting rights have been under attack and people of color are disproportionately impacted by recent restrictive measures put into place. This must end.

For more information or to speak with an expert, please contact Michael Neuwirth, chief communications officer, at